Morning Edition on 89.5-1 http://kwgs.com en To Increase Productivity, UPS Monitors Drivers' Every Move http://kwgs.com/post/increase-productivity-ups-monitors-drivers-every-move The American workforce might want to pay attention to all those brown trucks full of cardboard boxes. UPS is using technology in ways that may soon be common throughout the economy.<p>On the surface, UPS trucks look the same as they did more than 20 years ago, when Bill Earle started driving for the company in rural Pennsylvania.<p>But underneath the surface, Earle says, the job has changed a lot. The thing you sign your name on when the UPS guy gives you a package used to be a piece of paper. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 11:41:00 +0000 Jacob Goldstein 57973 at http://kwgs.com To Increase Productivity, UPS Monitors Drivers' Every Move Salon Uses Image Of North Korea's Leader To Promote Discount http://kwgs.com/post/salon-uses-image-north-koreas-leader-promote-discount Transcript <p>KELLY MCEVERS, HOST: <p>Good morning. I'm Kelly McEvers. A salon in London recently used an image of North Korea's leader to promote a discount. Bad hair day? - said the sign with a picture of Kim Jong-un - 15 percent off all gent cuts through the month of April.<p>We're not sure how many customers opted for the sale after seeing the picture of Kim's shaved, short at the sides, puffy, parted in the middle situation - because two officials from the North Korean embassy came and ordered the sign to be taken down. You're listening to MORNING EDITION. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 10:30:00 +0000 editor 57965 at http://kwgs.com Lost Sea Lion Pup Found In California Almond Orchard http://kwgs.com/post/lost-sea-lion-pup-found-california-almond-orchard The pup was discovered 100 miles from the ocean. It mostly likely swam up the San Joaquin River, hopped out and couldn't find its way back. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 10:09:00 +0000 editor 57966 at http://kwgs.com Probe: Gains Of Integration Eroded, Especially In The South http://kwgs.com/post/probe-gains-integration-eroded-especially-south Transcript <p>KELLY MCEVERS, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION, from NPR News. I'm Kelly McEvers.<p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>And I'm David Greene. Good morning.<p>This spring will mark 60 years since Brown versus Board of Education. That's the Supreme Court ruling that was intended to end segregation in America's public schools. But a year-long study by the investigative journalism group ProPublica finds that we've never gotten to that goal. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 09:31:00 +0000 editor 57962 at http://kwgs.com Does Business Innovation Depend On A CEO's Age? http://kwgs.com/post/does-business-innovation-depend-ceos-age Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>One of the keys to success for a company or even a country is the ability to innovate, to create new ideas and products that change how people work, live and behave. And there's now new research suggesting that innovation could depend on the age of the people in charge. Of course innovation is just one measure of success. NPR's social science correspondent Shankar Vedantam has returned to join us. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 09:07:00 +0000 editor 57959 at http://kwgs.com Pay It Forward Proposal Could Help Students Afford College http://kwgs.com/post/pay-it-forward-proposal-could-help-students-afford-college A new idea is making the rounds in education circles. Under the plan, states would allow students to go to college for free then they would pay back a percentage of their salaries after they graduate. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 09:07:00 +0000 editor 57960 at http://kwgs.com Geneva Talks Aim To Ease Tensions In Ukraine Crisis http://kwgs.com/post/geneva-talks-aim-ease-tensions-ukraine-crisis Secretary of State John Kerry is in Geneva to meet with his diplomatic counterparts from Russia, Ukraine and the European Union. They are trying to find a resolution to the crisis in Ukraine. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 09:07:00 +0000 editor 57961 at http://kwgs.com Police Trace Heavy-Breathing Emergency Caller http://kwgs.com/post/police-trace-heavy-breathing-emergency-caller Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>Good morning. I'm David Greene. Police near London received a troubling emergency call. All the dispatcher could hear was heavy breathing. Cops rushed out to investigate, and found the caller running through a yard. It was a dog with a wireless phone in its mouth.<p>The Belgian Malinois named Layton must have tooth-dialed 999 - Britain's version of 911 - after snatching the phone from its owner. The owner told the Daily Mirror: He's downright naughty, but I would never swap him.<p>You're listening to MORNING EDITION. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 10:55:00 +0000 editor 57903 at http://kwgs.com Sad Panda In China Gets Her Own Play Area http://kwgs.com/post/sad-panda-china-gets-her-own-play-area Transcript <p>KELLY MCEVERS, HOST: <p>Good morning. I'm Kelly McEvers, with news of a sad panda in China. Si Jia got depressed after her only companion moved to another zoo. She's now a happy panda. The zoo where she lives built her a mini-amusement park. And now the staff at the Yunnan Safari Park in Southwest China has given her a plasma TV, where she can watch other pandas at play. Si Jia was one of three giant pandas rescued after the 2008 Sichuan earthquake.<p>It's MORNING EDITION. Transcript provided by NPR, Copyright NPR.<p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 10:36:00 +0000 editor 57904 at http://kwgs.com Tank Movement Increases Tensions In Eastern Ukraine http://kwgs.com/post/latest-eastern-ukraine Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>Tensions remain very high this morning in Eastern Ukraine, where pro-Russia demonstrators stormed the city hall in the city of Donetsk. And there are now reports this morning of several Ukrainian armored personnel carriers on the move in some cities flying Russian flags. To try and sort out what's going on, we have NPR's Ari Shapiro on the line. He is in the Eastern Ukrainian city of Kramatorsk. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 10:14:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 57900 at http://kwgs.com